day 6, italian restaurants and avocado scrambled eggs

Last night I HAD to go out to dinner and I was worried. Less so about finding something to eat, if you ask a few questions every restaurant will have SOMETHING which qualifies, rather, concerned that I wouldn’t be able to appreciate the best the restaurant had to offer. Unlucky for me, the group I was with picked a place in the North End with a waiter who spoke Italian and a full page of pasta. Great. However, lucky for me, Italian food does not start or end with flour. I ended up getting a salad (which they made larger for me as a main course) of grilled lobster, shrimp, calamari and seared scallops with a simple spicy lemon and olive oil vinaigrette over arugula. It was incredible. Every bite tasted delicious, the seafood was perfectly cooked, and I genuinely was not bitter or jealous of anyone else’s meal. Sometimes the best dishes are the most simple.

This morning I had some extra time so I made one of my favorite breakfasts

scrambled with avocado and salsa

Scrambled eggs with avocado and salsa. I’m on a quest to make the perfect eggs and it isn’t as easy as you might think. I’ve experimented with different pans, heats, velocity of whisk, dairy and cooking fats. It’s a work in progress but I’m getting pretty damn good. This is my favorite technique right now. Plus, the fatty avocado completely makes up for the lack of dairy.

4 eggs, mixed with a fork to combine but not over mix and add a pinch of salt and pepper

1/2 avocado sliced into small chuncks

favorite (Whole30 approved if you’d like) salsa

tsp of chopped cilantro leaves

lime juice

clarified butter/ghee. Butter and eggs are the best of friends in my opinion. However, the milk proteins in regular butter are not part of the Whole30 so I use clarified butter in it’s place. Not as good as the real thing but definitely not bad.

Add clarified butter to pan over medium until it is foaming but not brown or burnt. You want enough heat to create steam which will fluff up the eggs, but not too much as to overcook them. Add eggs and fold them over constantly for a few minutes until almost done. Add in avocado so it warms and fold until eggs are at your desired runny-ness. I like my eggs just barely set while mom takes her dry as a desert. Spoon over some salsa and sprinkle with lime juice and cilantro (I had half a lime, salsa and some cilantro left over from yesterday so this was perfect). Done. Yum.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Collette, Dinner, Whole30 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to day 6, italian restaurants and avocado scrambled eggs

  1. Carrie says:

    Avocados and eggs are two of my favorite foods. This looks delish!

    • collette2687 says:

      Thanks! I started doing this a while ago when I stopped putting cheese in my eggs (lactose intolerant… boo) and I don’t think I’ll ever go back. Hope you enjoy!

  2. Pingback: Relaxing the Whole30 and Chipotle Short Ribs | a spoonful of family….

Leave a Reply

