Day 7 for the rest of us…

I guess I should first explain “the rest of us” from my post titles. We are a family of 4; father, mother, daughter and son. Daughter (Collette) is a city dweller, living about an hour away from ‘the rest of us’ in our little sleepy town. The blog was her idea of how we could all share this experience, recipes and ideas.

So far, I think I am managing this blog thing a little better tonight than last night. However, it is almost 10pm and I have just finished cleaning up the kitchen from dinner. While Collette may enjoy creating her meals from scratch, in part, that may be because she hasn’t been doing it nightly for 30+ years. That being said, I am trying to maintain my enthusiasm for this journey by shopping, cooking and keeping the rest of the family involved.

My husband is a great cook, and our family and friends seldom turn down an invitation to dinner. He would have made an excellent chef. He now does most of the cooking, but every once in a while I still try to be inventive. I have two examples of this from today’s meals.

BREAKFAST:

I mentioned last night that I made “Sarah’s Whole30 Smoothie, Beta Version” on Thursday morning. It was quite tasty and very filling.

* 1/3 cup high-fac coconut milk

* 1-2 Tablespoons almond butter

* 1 banana, cut into pieces

* 1Tablespoon flax seeds

* 1/4 Cup frozen blueberries

* a couple of splashes of orange juice, more or less is your decision

* Start by blending the spinach, and then add the rest of the ingredients. Because you  don’t use ice, any left over smoothie can be placed in the fridge for hours and it will hold its shape.

I enjoyed this smoothie so much yesterday, that last night while cleaning up the dinner dishes, I decided i would plan to have it again this morning. Part of the clean up involved what to do with 5 large, thick broccoli stems. (The florets were eaten at dinner.). Because we seem to be spending a lot on food this week, I didn’t want to just toss the stems out. A bag of broccoli slaw in the fridge gave me an idea…. I placed all the stems in the blender, creamed them and placed in the fridge for the morning.

Can you guess what I did them this morning..? I made the exact same smoothie, but I substituted the creamed broccoli stems for the spinach. The drink was ok, but the broccoli most certainly overpowered every other flavor, as well as adding to the green tint. And I didn’t add enough juice, so it took me the entire 20 minute ride to work to slurp this up mud green concoction. In this case, improvising was NOT a good idea!

DINNER:

Fast forward 14 hours. After a full day at work, I did several errands on the way home, visited an elderly relative and have finally arrived home very, very hungry. And there is nothing waiting for me on the stove. Rats! My husband is still at work so I will have to pull dinner together for me and my son. Hmmmm… Here is what I came up with… all by myself ! Scallops and pecans with Sauteed Broccoli slaw and Radishes !

scallops

My son, having just heard my creamed broccoli tale, was a little hesitant to try that same veggie in a different state. But he loved them and proclaimed tonight’s dinner his favorite meal this week! So I’m 1 for 2 on the improvision scale for today.

Scallops with Pecans:

* In a large sautee pan, sautee several chopped green onions in olive oil over medium heat until soft.

* Add 1 lb chopped pecan pieces to pan and warm.

* Add 2 lbs sea scallops (and any liquid with it) to pecans and onions. Cover pan and cook for about 10 minutes. You will need to check scallops every few minutes, stirring and turning them over to brown all sides. Serve warm. Serves 4-6.

Sauteed Broccoli Slaw and Radishes:

* Warm olive oil in pan over medium heat. Add 4-5 chopped garlic cloves and 2 bunches of sliced radishes. Sautee until soft.

* Add two bags of purchased broccoli slaw and mix with radishes. Cover pan and sautee for 10 minutes or until broccoli slaw is soft.

* Add 1 Cup of ground or chopped almonds and mix.

* Spoon mixture onto plates and garnish with avocardo slices. Makes 4-6 servings.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinner, Mom, Whole30 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 7 for the rest of us…

  1. Renee Finlay says:

    I really like that you’re including recipes, espicailly since it take some time to include them with the blog narrative. Very helpful and so appreciated. You are an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

