Pancakes and EGGcakes

20130115-091957.jpg

Nothing says good morning like pancakes. As a ‘grown up’ I don’t actually eat pancakes all that much but as soon as we started Whole30 that was all I wanted to eat on the weekend! It’s funny how that works. Anyway, I tried to make my Whole30 as simple and restrictive as possible- I avoided ‘flour’ of any form (almond, coconut) to really break my dependence on grains in meal by removing all grain substitutes- which meant… no pancakes. Or so I thought.

My aunt found an awesome solution… egg-cakes! I ate many of these the last few days when I was working at the fish market and they are a pretty great alternative to traditional pancakes.

Banana EGGcakes
1 banana
2 eggs
splash of coconut milk
sprinkle of cinnamon

Mash up banana, add egg, cinnamon and combine. Heat coconut oil or clarified butter in large skillet or cured cast iron over medium Add dollop of batter and flip after a few minutes. Batter will not bubble as much as traditional pancakes and may take a few tries to garner the right time.

Now that I’m eating in a more moderate version of the Whole30 I’ve allowed myself nut and other types of flours, at least for right now. I’ve tried many alternate flour pancakes and I enjoy the taste of almond flour the best (a little nutty and dense). Adding blueberries breaks of some of the almond monotony if you’re worried. Best part about using almond flour- the batter tastes good! You can season to taste(if you aren’t worried about raw eggs) before the batter even touches the griddle!

Banana pancakes
1 ripe banana
2 eggs, whites and yolks separated
1 cup almond flour
½ cup coconut milk
sprinkle of cinnamon
sprinkle of nutmeg (half the amount of cinnamon to start out)
blueberries

20130114-165343.jpg

Mash up banana into good ‘mush’. Combine with egg YOLK, almond flour, and half of coconut milk. Check consistency and add more coconut milk until just sliding off spoon enough. Add spices to taste, I usually end up around a 1 tsp of cinnamon and ½ tsp nutmeg. Beat egg whites until soft peaks and fold into batter. Spoon out small pancakes onto griddle (without gluten that batter may not ‘stick’ as much at first so start with smaller pancakes which are easier to flip). Sprinkle with blueberries and flip when ready, after a minute or two.

;

20130114-165419.jpg

This entry was posted in Whole30. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pancakes and EGGcakes

  1. CForte says:

    My daughter tried them and actually liked them. Will have to see if my two boys would eat them.
    i think the cinnamon adds to the taste as well. They have almond flour at job lot for about 8.00/pound not sure if that is a good price!

Leave a Reply

