Here I go again! And crock pot pork chops and apples

Let’s review…. My last post was in December at the end of our family’s 1st Whole30 challenge. We all felt far better and had shed pounds. Now, 5 weeks later, I have decided to follow the plan again. While we have continued to follow most of the guidelines, some items have crept back in….. Namely, alcohol, Diet Coke and Girl Scout cookies!!

Another reason is that I have arthritis in my hands and I noticed that I didn’t have very much pain during those 30 days. I had contributed that to a mild winter, but my daughter told me that Whole30 is anti inflammatory so I’ll be watching my thumbs during these 30 days. And finally, I am trying to stick to an exercise routine to drop a few pounds before participating in a 5k in March. It only makes sense to pair exercising with a healthy diet.

I do want to mention a dish that we have had several times in the past month…. Crockpot pork chops and apples. The recipe title is also the list of ingredients!

Crockpot Pork Chops and Apples: Simply layer 4-6 boneless, trimmed pork chops in the bottom of a crockpot. Now slice the top and bottom off 3 green apples. (Any variety will do…..we just always have green apples in the fridge.) Now core the apples and then slice them so you have a lot of apple ‘donuts’ and lay them on top of the pork chops. You can prepare this the night before so that in the morning you only need to turn the crockpot on before heading out the door! (Our guinea pig loves this recipe too because he gets the chopped off apple tops and bottoms!)

This entry was posted in Whole30. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Here I go again! And crock pot pork chops and apples

  1. Torie says:

    Sounds good! Interesting that you noticed the link between the acidic foods & your arthritis.

Leave a Reply

