day 5 and crock pot beef carnitas

Already day 5 of the Whole30 and we haven’t posted anything! So yesterday I made a variation of this.

Disclaimer- her pictures are much better than my iphone’s. Regardless, they were delicious.

The recipe is almost completely Whole30 on it’s own. I simply used approved salsa (making my own is better but I was crunched for time, hence the crock pot) and substituted cabbage for the tortillas. I chopped up all the veggies and spice rubbed the flank steak the night before and left them in the fridge. In the morning it took me 30 seconds to dump everything in the crock pot and turn it on. When I came home the house smelled delicious and dinner was hot ‘n ready to eat.

after 8 hours cooking it should fall apart easily

I enjoy using cabbage in place of wraps or tortillas because it brings a little crunch and sturdiness but this is just a personal preference. Any type of greens would be great for this.

How am I feeling? I’m currently in the midst of a cold and the first few Whole days were spent around a guinea pig which I am highly allergic to so I can’t claim to notice any big differences in my health. There is one annoying development though- despite eating 3 large meals and snacks, I am incredibly hungry most of the day. It’s better than feeling bloated and full, but still not ideal. I have a hunch as to the cause of this (and it’s not because I’m starving, trust me!) and I’ll try to figure it out as soon as possible.

Bonus leftover lunch!                                                                                                              Leftover meat, avocado and some new tomatoes and peppers made a perfect lunch salad on spinach with some lime dressing. If you squirt lime on the extra avocado half and the keep it cool you can just slice off the thin, top, browned area the next day.

This entry was posted in Collette, Dinner, Whole30 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment