day 7, turkey burgers

It’s been a long, hungry, first week. I’ve taken these days one at a time, slowly figuring out what to eat (lots of food), how much food to bring for lunch (a lot), and discovering the benefits of a mid-afternoon sweet potato snack. One of my favorite things about the Whole30 is it’s focus on cooking from scratch with few ingredients but last night I was so hungry after work that I didn’t have time for a big production. Solution? Turkey burgers!

I know, sometimes they stink. I too have eaten awful, dry turkey burgers in the past but whenever I make my own they come out juicy and delicious. Plus, it only took me 45 minutes to prep, cook, get in my stomach and in my spare time I found out what happens when you drop garlic under the fridge.

sometimes I forget garlic is a bulb. apparently the environment under my fridge contains ideal sprouting conditions

sometimes I forget garlic is a bulb. apparently the environment under my fridge contains ideal sprouting conditions

1 lb ground turkey. At some grocery stores (Whole Foods) they even have ground turkey in the deli counter. Bonus flavor if you can find ground thighs.

1/2 a red onion, diced

2 tbs chopped cilantro (there’s so much still leftover from the past few meals!)

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 inch ginger root, minced (ginger root is sometimes tough to locate but most stores have it in the produce section)

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp chili pepper

2 tsps paprika

salt and pepper to taste

photo (3)

four things to chop, that’s it!

Add all ingredients in a bowl and combine by hand. Make into 4 patties with an indentation in the center. Cook over medium heat in coconut oil, about 4 minutes each side.

photo (1)

Yum. If you haven’t noticed, I LOVE avocados and eat them on everything. Including turkey burgers. Last night I ate two patties with baby spinach, tomato slices, avocado.

turkey burger salad

turkey burger salad


Mom, make these. They are delicious, they are super easy to bring for lunch, and you will never buy turkey burgers again. 

This entry was posted in Collette, Dinner, Whole30 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to day 7, turkey burgers

  1. Pingback: Whole30: Week 1 | OPTI Kettlebells

Leave a Reply

